A Dialogue Between A Scholar And An Alcoholic

A Dialogue Between A Scholar And An Alcoholic.

Alcoholic: “Do you think I am doing wrong by eating a
date?”

Scholar: “No.”

Alcoholic: “And if I ate with it some Grass?”

Scholar: “There is nothing wrong with that.”

Alcoholic: “And if I was to wash them down with
water?”

Scholar: “Drink and enjoy.”

Alcoholic: “Since all of that is permissible, then why
do you forbid us from alcohol, which consists of the
above mentioned ingredients?”

Scholar: “If I poured water on top of you, would that
hurt you?”

Alcoholic: “No it would not.”

Scholar: “And if I was to sprinkle some dirt in that,
would you be hurt?”

Alcoholic: “That would not harm me.”
Scholar: “But if I were to mix water and dirt together
and through a process make a large brick from those
two elements, and then were I to throw that large
brick at you, would you be hurt?”
Alcoholic: “That would kill me!”
Scholar: “The same goes for alcohol.”
[Taken from “Gems And Jewels”,

2 thoughts on “A Dialogue Between A Scholar And An Alcoholic

Leave a Reply

